CALBAYOG CITY - The 14th Lamiraw Creative Writing Workshop will be conducted on June 1-3, 2017 at the University of Eastern Philippines, Catarman, Northern Samar by the University of Eastern Philippines (UEP) and Katig Writers Network, Inc., in cooperation with the National Commission for Culture and the Arts (NCAA). Application to participate in this workshop is now open.

Lamiraw is a multilingual literary writing workshop run by Katig Writers Network Inc. which is routed every year among state universities in Samar and Leyte. It fosters revival of local languages and inter-regional writers’ exchange targeting both young and practicing writers who would like to hone their craft in poetry, fiction, essay writing and drama. This year, 2 slots for Central Visayas (guest fellows) and 10 slots for Eastern Visayas are up for grabs.

Works submitted for the selection process must be unpublished and not yet submitted to other workshop screenings in the country. Works must be written in any of the following languages: Waray, Sebuano, Inabaknon or English. Manuscripts in Waray, Sebuano and Inabaknon must be accompanied with translation in Filipino or English. Applicants may submit any or a combination of the following: 3 poems, 1 short story, 1 essay or 1 one-act play. Font type must be Times New Roman and font size must be 12.

The fellowship will award (12) twelve slots for applicants who will qualify the selection process. Subsidy for the fellows includes board and lodging and transportation allowance. Qualifying the Lamiraw Workshop means having the opportunity to interact with local practicing writers and other artists, and being able to join the Waray cultural heritage tour in Northern Samar.

This year’s keynote speaker is Dr. Maria Luisa Torres Reyes of Ateneo de Manila University. Panelists are Dr. Hope Yu of the University of San Carlos (USC), Dr. Lydia de la Rosa of the University of Eastern Philippines (UEP), Comm. Jerry Gracio of Komisyon sa Wikang Filipino (KWF), Prof. Harold Mercurio of Northwest Samar State University (NwSSU), Prof. Yvonne Esperas of Phil. Science High School (PSHS-EVC)/NCLA Coordinator, and Fray Paolo Maria Diosdado Casurao of the Pilgrim Brothers of St. Francis.

Applicants should fill out and send the 14th Lamiraw official application form together with the softcopy of their works in MSWord format to lamiraw@yahoo.com. Deadline for submission is on April 15, 2017. Fellows who will qualify will be informed through email or by phone not later than April 30, 2017. For inquiries, please contact the Lamiraw Secretariat at 09167569693 or email to lamiraw@yahoo.com.

-, April 7, 2023

The Calbayog Journal (also known as CJ)
is an on-line news service covering Eastern Visayas area.
CJ aims to offer unbiased coverage of the people and events in Eastern Visayas.

(c) 2015 - 2019